4.4
28 Reviews
5
79% (22)
4
4% (1)
3
4% (1)
2
11% (3)
1
4% (1)
75% Recommend this product (21 of 28 responses)
By Dan
Olympia, WA
August 3, 2019
Beware of damage to the finish
Good little tuners more accurate than the snark tuners, BUT beware. I have a couple of these on my very expensive guitars. I left them on for a couple of weeks, and when I took them off they left a circle on my head stock where they had been - a mar in the finish that I couldn't buff off. That was a bummer! I recently gave away my snarks, and my Micros and started using KlIQ Ubertuners. They seem more accurate and faster. A little more expensive though.
By Carlos Gonzalez
El Paso, TX
July 9, 2019
Perfect for classical guitar
I have been using this small and discreet friend for two years, excellent on stage, it can go behind the headstock and you can make a discreet look at the moment of tuning.
ProsMetronome light included.
By Larry
Plainwell, MI
October 30, 2018
Near Perfect, nearly invisible
Great tuner - very small, but still visible. Doesn't look awkward when you leave it on while playing. I've had a couple going for several years now - still going strong.
ProsDoes a good job of tuning, very small, but still easily visible.
By Enzo
Laval, QC
October 2, 2018
A keeper
Perfect for my little telecaster headstock. Super easy to use and very visible on a dimly lit stage. Also, if it's good enough for Mr. Jim Campilongo, it's good enough for me !
By Ivica
Zaton, CROATIA
September 21, 2018
Very well !!
This tuner is very practical, easy to tune strings, easy to put it on, easy to put it off. After a year and two months first time I changed battery on tuner. Now it is as first day.
ProsEasy use.
ConsNothing.
By Eli
Tel Aviv, Not in USA
July 2, 2018
Not very dependable, disappointing over time...
I was really thrilled at first to discover this little tuner that can be concealed behind the headstock of my guitar so that it's not visible to the audience when I'm on stage, but over time, I have found this tuner to be not so dependable - often not staying lit or reading the tuning properly. I have also found the clip falls apart or falls off too easily, and I have misplaced the tuner a number of times on a dark stage... Overall, I found myself going back to the older and larger Planet Waves clip on tuners that I purchased a few years ago.
By Kevin
Bethany, OK
December 5, 2017
Great gadget to have on hand
I have used this on multiple guitars in multiple situations. It works well for quick,discreet tune ups and is the smallest headstock tuner I have ever (never) seen. I keep one on the headstock of my acoustic and it just lives there - in the case and on the stage. The visual metronome is a great addition. I have had to start tunes cold and just set this so I can get my foot tapping at the right beat before kicking off, but no distracting noise. I have to find just the right spot on the headstock to leave the tuner when using stands that hang the guitar from the headstock.
ProsTiny Multi function Easy to read
ConsBest placement may vary by instrument
By Dave
Houston, TX
June 27, 2017
Haven't changed the battery yet!
East to clip-on and read, and it delivers consistent results. I haven't changed the battery since I purchased it years ago.
ProsConvenient clip-on Swivel and orientation customization Easy to read Consistent tune-up
ConsSometimes I have to swivel the screen for the LED to sharpen the read-out (maybe it's time for a new battery?)
By Yut
Klongsan, Bangkok
May 9, 2017
Love this tuner
I love this tuner so much. Small and working perfectly. But bad thing it is too small. I have lost 5-6 of this already.
Pros- compact and fully function. - good design
Cons- very easy to loose or stolen as it is very small.
By Trent
La Crete, AB
January 27, 2017
I LOVE THIS TUNER
This tuner makes my day so much better. So small, and does such a great job of tuning, especially if you get picky with it.
ProsForm factor superb, tuning excellent
By amit
Ramat yishai, israel
December 13, 2016
great choise
Work on every instrument, Accurate, and work for long time before you need to change batteris
By Cameron
Pa
November 17, 2016
Don't do it
I purchased this a couple months ago and it worked maybe 6 times before starting to blink constantly and not catching the notes. Tried a brand new battery.....no dice. This has only been used VERY gently in my living room. I have read elsewhere of this same blinking problem. Not worth the hassle for me to return it. I have other better ones.
ProsSmall
ConsDOESN'T work for very long.
By Ivan Vilches
Antofagasta, Antofagasta
August 24, 2016
Pequeño y poderoso.
Este afinador es muy util, además su pequeño tamaño hace que no sea molesto, y evita pasarlo a llevar con algo mas. Además, su pantalla puede configurarse para ser puesto tanto por frente, como por detras del clavijero.
By Mario
Skopje, /
June 25, 2016
A nice little gadget
I just got this item and I am very pleased with it. It's small (and that's a very good thing), it's accurate and very easy to use.
By Dean
Waukesha, Wi
March 10, 2016
Would be rated higher if it wasn't a battery hog.
Not a bad tuner, small, out of sight but the darn thing ate up batteries just sitting in the case turned off. Contacted Planet Waves, they sent me a new unit but that too ate up batteries. I have larger tuners and they don't die that quickly. Would not recommend this tuner for that reason. Customer service was great...five stars for them.
By Ed
Youngstown, OH
October 18, 2015
Excellent Low-Profile Tuner
This is an accurate, easy to read headstock tuner with a very low profile. I typically hate having a tuner on the headstock, but this one is so low profile that I don't mind having it up there even during a gig. Highly recommended!
Pros* Accurate * VERY small footprint * Easy to read despite small footprint (Bravo!)
Cons* Can be a little tricky to get on and off with one hand.
By Darren
Foothills, AB
August 23, 2015
Compact, Unobtrusive, But Flawed
I've tried a few of these and so have my friends. Love the size and the fact they can stay on your instrument even in the case, but they burn through batteries like mad and are horribly inaccurate, downright wonky, as soon as the battery gets a bit weak.
ProsCompact
ConsBattery life Accuracy
By Nil
Kfar saba, israel
June 5, 2015
Best tuner ever
i work at a guitar store and i always keep one of these in my pocket. great size and quality, very handy .
By Paulius
Alameda, CA
April 29, 2015
Best clip on tuner
This is the best and most compact tuner i have tryed, battery lasts a long time.
ProsCompact Easy to use Discrete
By Luciano
Vallenar, Atacama
September 22, 2014
Great product!
The best "micro" tuner I've ever tried! It's tiny, light weight, matches a lot of guitars, has the perfect screen and even a metronome (light)!
ProsLightweight! Tiny! Matches a lot of guitars! Has a metronome!
By Chuck
Bronx, New York
July 17, 2014
Almost Invisible
This tuner is my first foray into headstock tuners and I am more than pleased so far. When it came it was much smaller than I expected and happily so. I clipped it on my acoustic and immediately found the "sweet spot" for it and proceeded to tune it up without any problems. I then clipped it onto my Telecaster, near the nut and with the display under the headstock, and it worked perfectly.
ProsSize, ease of use
ConsNone
By Josh
Otumoetai, Tauranga
July 9, 2014
Little gem
The tuner is easy to use and easy to see. And very accurate
ProsSmall Bright Accurate
ConsNone
By Christopher
Houston, TX
June 29, 2014
Great little tuner.
Works as advertised. I've never had an issue with it. Only thing I need is another couple of these for my other instruments.
By Rusty
Chapel Hill, NC
June 19, 2014
Best tuner that is almost invisible.
I've had this tuner for over a year now and love it. Just ordered 3 more. Why? Because not only is it accurate, not only is it easy to see on a dark stage, it is also the smallest nearly invisible tuner out there. Korg has come out with a similar tuner but it is about twice the size of the NS Micro and still looks like an unwanted growth attached to your headstock.
ProsSmall, easy to read in the dark or light.
ConsButtons are close together and it is easy to hit the wrong one. Fortunately the power button is larger than the rest so you can feel it and it is centrally placed in the array.
By RossJ
St. Paul, MN
October 4, 2013
Smaller and better...
I just popped these on a resonator and a Gibson J45 and they read frequency and tune EXCELLENTLY, but more importantly, they can stay ON the headstock in the case. I was constantly losing or having other types pop off or disappearing into the bowels of a gig bag or case. They are almost invisible on stage too, which is really nice on vintage instruments.
ProsTINY. Hide behind headstock. Accurate.
ConsOne tuner had a low battery at receipt. I think because they are minimally packaged and it may have been inadvertently turned on in storage or shipping? NO big deal...
By Scott K
Boulder, CO
November 19, 2012
Minimal tone change!
I now have two of these to go along with 2 Snark tuners and the other Planet Waves model. I find all three to tune very well and the reason I am moving over to the Mini is due to the low weight and ability to place closer to the nut it has less affect on the tone of the instrument. The larger tuners seem to take some of the overtones away leaving you with more fundamental.
ProsAccurate, light weight, almost invisible to the audience.
ConsThe clip can be fussy at times.
By Ranger Stan
June 13, 2012
Planet Waves NS Mini Headstock Tuner Update
I've now used the Planet Waves NS Mini Headstock Tuner for 7 months and I liked my first one so well I've since bought 2 more. I use them on my Martin HD-28V, Gibson F5 mandolin, and Gibson Les Paul. I've got a bunch of other tuners I don't use much any more because I love these so much. My first review said the clip seemed flimsy, but I've had no trouble with it.
By Ranger Stan
November 3, 2011
Planet Waves NS Mini Headstock Tuner
Tunes accurately and quickly. Stays out of the way. Clip seems a bit flimsy, but what do you expect for $20?

Page 1 of 1